BYLAW NO. 009/2024

A BYLAW OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF ELK ISLAND PUBLIC SCHOOLS RELATING TO THE ESTABLISHMENT OF WARDS AND ELECTORAL SUBDIVISIONS OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF ELK ISLAND PUBLIC SCHOOLS

PURSUANT TO THE REGIONAL AGREEMENT AND SUBSEQUENT ORDERS IN COUNCIL NOS. 579/94 and 692/94 and MINISTERIAL ORDERS 082/94, 164/94, 165/94, 166/94 and 167/94.

AND WHEREAS STRATHCONA COUNTY (hereinafter called "the County") and the LAMONT COUNTY (hereinafter collectively called "the Participating Boards") entered into a Regional Agreement (hereinafter called the "Regional Agreement") to form a Regional Division to be called the ELK ISLAND REGIONAL DIVISION (hereinafter called the "Regional Division").

AND WHEREAS the Regional Agreement provides for the establishment of the Regional Division and the inclusion of the area comprising the County and the CITY OF FORT SASKATCHEWAN in the Regional Division.

AND WHEREAS Ministerial Order 082/94 established the Elk Island Regional Division No. 14 effective January 1, 1995.

AND WHEREAS Order in Council 579/94 repealed Ministerial Order No. 082/94 and, established the GREATER ELK ISLAND REGIONAL DIVISION NO. 14. Order in Council 579/94 established a portion of the County of Minburn No. 27 as a ward of the Regional Division, specified the number of trustees to be elected to the Board of Trustees for each Ward and the electoral subdivisions.

AND WHEREAS Order in Council 692/94 amended Order in Council 579/94 to change the name of the Greater Elk Island Regional Division No. 14 to the ELK ISLAND PUBLIC SCHOOLS REGIONAL DIVISION NO. 14 effective January 1, 1995.

AND WHEREAS the Minister of Education, by Ministerial Orders 164/94, 165/94, 166/94 and 167/94, realigned the boundaries of a number of public school districts located in the COUNTY OF MINBURN NO. 27 to have the named areas included in the portion of the County of Minburn No. 27 Ward in Elk Island Public Schools Regional Division No. 14.

AND WHEREAS Ministerial Order 034/2019 continued the Elk Island Public Schools Regional Division No. 14 as THE ELK ISLAND SCHOOL DIVISION and the Board of Trustees of Elk Island Public Schools Regional Division No. 14 as THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF ELK ISLAND SCHOOL DIVISION effective September 1, 2019.

AND WHEREAS Ministerial Order 008/2020 approved a change in the corporate name of the Board of Trustees of Elk Island School Division to THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF ELK ISLAND PUBLIC SCHOOLS effective January 21, 2020.

NOW THEREFORE, in accordance with s. 76 of the *Education Act*, THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF ELK ISLAND PUBLIC SCHOOLS (hereinafter called the "Board"), enacts as follows:

- (1) Effective with the general election in October 2025, the number of trustees to be elected to the Board for each Ward shall be
 - (a) one trustee for the County of Minburn No. 27 Ward;
 - (b) one trustee for the Lamont County Ward; and
 - (c) seven trustees from the Strathcona County Ward
- (2) The election of the trustee for the County of Minburn No. 27 Ward shall be by the general vote of the electors;
- (3) The election of the trustee for the Lamont County Ward shall be by the general vote of the electors;
- (4) The election of trustees in the Strathcona County Ward shall be by electoral subdivisions as follows:
 - (a) Electoral Subdivision #1 shall be comprised of all the lands lying within the corporate limits of the City of Fort Saskatchewan.
 - (i) Two (2) trustees shall be elected from Electoral Subdivision #1.
 - (b) Electoral Subdivision #2 shall be comprised of all Strathcona County municipal lands lying within the urban ward boundaries described in Strathcona County's Municipal Ward Boundaries & Council Composition Bylaw 31-2023 as shown on Enclosure 1.
 - (i) Three (3) trustees shall be elected from Electoral Subdivision #2.
 - (c) Electoral Subdivision #3 shall be comprised of all Strathcona County municipal lands lying north of Secondary Highway 630 (Wye Road) excluding the lands within the urban ward boundaries described in Strathcona County's Municipal Ward Boundaries & Council Composition Bylaw 31-2023 as shown on Enclosure 1.
 - (i) One (1) trustee shall be elected from Electoral Subdivision #3.

- (d) Electoral Subdivision #4 shall be comprised of all Strathcona County municipal lands lying south of Secondary Highway 630 (Wye Road) excluding the lands within the urban ward boundaries described in Strathcona County's Municipal Ward Boundaries and Council Composition Bylaw 31-2023 as shown in Enclosure 1.
 - (i) One (1) trustee shall be elected from Electoral Subdivision #4.

UPON third reading of Bylaw No. 009/2024, Bylaw No. 007/2020 is hereby repealed.

READ A FIRST TIME this 28th day of November, 2024.

READ A SECOND TIME this 28th day of November, 2024.

READ A THIRD and FINAL TIME this 5^{th} day of December, 2024.

Board Chair

Secretary-Treasurer

Enclosure 1

