Sherwood Park, AB. — Today, at a regularly scheduled Elk Island Public Schools (EIPS) Board of Trustees meeting, trustees formally elected by acclamation Trina Boymook as Board Chair. Additionally, Heather Wall was elected by acclamation as Vice-Chair. Both individuals will lead the Board of Trustees for the 2018-19 school year.

Board Chair Boymook was first elected as an EIPS trustee in October 2013—representing residents in Sherwood Park. Prior to joining EIPS, she worked in several leadership roles including president of the Alberta School Councils’ Association (ASCA), chair of EIPS’ Committee of School Councils and a representative on various Alberta Education stakeholder advisory committees. Boymook is a vocal advocate for education and has worked diligently for years to ensure children and parent concerns are heard in the classroom, in schools and in the boardroom. This is Boymook’s sixth consecutive term as Board Chair.

“I’m honoured to be re-elected and want to thank my fellow trustees for their support as we begin a new year,” says Boymook. “Over the coming year, we’ll continue our work on enhancing public education and student learning environments, with a focus on promoting growth and success for all students within.”

Vice-Chair Wall was first elected as an EIPS trustee in October 2013—representing residents in Fort Saskatchewan. Her background includes several leadership roles and more than 25 years working as a registered nurse. Wall believes strongly, literacy is the building block of all education and necessary for children to achieve their individual level of excellence. This is Wall’s second consecutive term as Board Vice-Chair.

“I consider it a great privilege to be re-elected as Vice-Chair,” says Wall. “I’m excited about the year ahead. It promises to be an interesting one with new opportunities and new challenges as we carry on our work to ensure high-quality education for our students.”

At the meeting, the Board of Trustees also approved its regular Board meeting schedule, which is now available on the EIPS website.

EIPS has a nine-member Board representing approximately 17,150 students and their families in Sherwood Park, the City of Fort Saskatchewan, the Town of Vegreville, Strathcona County, Lamont County and the western portion of the County of Minburn. Trustees meet as a Board and on committees on a regular basis throughout the year to ensure students receive the best education possible.

To learn more about the EIPS Board of Trustees, visit

Elk Island Public Schools is one of Alberta’s largest school divisions, serving approximately 17,150 students in 43 schools. We are proud to be an integral part of our communities, including Sherwood Park, Fort Saskatchewan, Vegreville, Strathcona and Lamont counties, and the western portion of the County of Minburn.


For more information contact:
Laura McNabb, Director, Communication Services, EIPS 780-417-8204 cell 780-405-4902