Sherwood Park, AB. — Today, at a regularly scheduled Elk Island Public Schools (EIPS) Board of Trustees meeting, trustees formally elected by acclamation Trina Boymook as the Board Chair. Additionally, Colleen Holowaychuk was acclaimed the Vice-Chair. Both individuals will lead the Board of Trustees for the 2020-21 school year.

Board Chair Boymook was first elected as an EIPS trustee in October 2013—representing residents in Sherwood Park. She also serves as vice-president of the Alberta School Boards Association. Boymook is a vocal advocate for education and has worked diligently for years to ensure child and parent concerns are heard in the classroom, in schools and in the boardroom. This is Boymook’s eighth consecutive term as Board Chair.

“I’m honoured to be re-elected and want to thank my fellow trustees for their support as we focus on a return to learning after almost six months,” says Boymook. “Over the coming year, as we work through the school re-entry, our focus will remain on the growth and success for all students.”

Vice-Chair Holowaychuk was first elected as an EIPS trustee in October 2010—representing residents in Lamont County. She also serves Chair of ASBA Zone 2/3. Her background includes several leadership roles and almost 30 years in the science and health care sectors. When not working, Holowaychuk enjoys volunteering and being part of the rural community, as it is part of her roots and an important aspect of her life. This is Holowaychuk’s fifth term as Board Vice-Chair.

“It’s a great privilege to be re-elected Vice-Chair,” says Holowaychuk. “We have a lot of work to do to ensure the transition back to school is smooth and learning continues to take place in the safest way possible. It’s a responsibility the Board takes seriously and trustees will work closely with administration to achieve that end.”

At the meeting, the Board of Trustees also approved its regular Board meeting schedule, which is now available on the EIPS website.

EIPS has a nine-member Board representing approximately 17,400 students and their families in Sherwood Park, the City of Fort Saskatchewan, the Town of Vegreville, Strathcona County, Lamont County and the western portion of the County of Minburn. Trustees meet as a Board and on committees on a regular basis throughout the year to ensure students receive the best education possible.

To learn more about the EIPS Board of Trustees visit


Elk Island Public Schools is one of Alberta’s largest school divisions, serving approximately 17,400 students in 43 schools. We are proud to be an integral part of our communities, including Sherwood Park, Fort Saskatchewan, Vegreville, Strathcona and Lamont counties, and the western portion of the County of Minburn.



For more information contact:
Laura McNabb, Director, Communication Services, EIPS 780-417-8204 cell 780-405-4902