Sherwood Park, AB. — Elk Island Public Schools (EIPS) is seeking further community input on naming the Wye Elementary replacement school—being built in the Heritage Hills area and slated to open in 2020.

In a public survey that ran in October and November of 2018, EIPS consulted with the community on whether or not a new name for the replacement school was desired, and collected name suggestions. Using this input, the Board approved the renaming process, and created a shortlist of possible names. Before a final decision is made, EIPS is inviting the community to participate in a brief online survey.

The shortlisted names are:

  • Heritage Hills (School or Elementary)
  • Heritage Hills Park (School or Elementary)
  • Heritage Point (School or Elementary)

Once the survey closes on February 15, EIPS Administration will review the feedback from the survey and recommend a final name to the Board of Trustees. The Board is expected to approve the name during the March Board meeting.

EIPS is one of Alberta’s largest school divisions, serving approximately 17,150 students in 43 schools. We are proud to be an integral part of our communities, including Sherwood Park, Fort Saskatchewan, Vegreville, Strathcona and Lamont counties, and the western portion of the County of Minburn.



For more information contact:
Laura McNabb, director, Communication Services, EIPS 780-417-8204 cell 780-405-4902