Subscribe to our News feed by emailing EIPS Communication Services via our online contact form


Sherwood Park, AB. — On March 16, the Elk Island Public Schools (EIPS) Board of Trustees voted in favour of closing Ministik School as of June 30. 2017. In addition, a second motion was passed to re-designate Ministik School students, including those registered for kindergarten, to Fultonvale Elementary Junior High for the 2017–2018 school year.

The decision to close Ministik School was made based on several factors including:

  • budget funding allocations and fiduciary responsibilities
  • the overall condition of the facility
  • costs required to both maintain and operate the facility
  • the proximity of a school within 16 kilometres and capacity to accommodate additional students
  • long-term capital plans
  • programming available throughout the Division

The board carefully reviewed a significant body of data submitted by EIPS administration and feedback provided by the community before tendering its decision. Information regarding the Ministik School closure process including information about the school, reports, transcripts from the public meetings, question-and-answer documents and the Division’s three-year and 10-year capital plans can be found at

EIPS is committed to working closely with students and their families to ensure the transition to the new school is handled smoothly. EIPS’ Supports for Students department will put a school transition plan in place, which includes communications with students and families, school council groups from both Ministik School and Fultonvale Elementary Junior High, school administration and staff. Additionally, EIPS will ensure facility requirements, support services, library resources, staffing implications and student transportation are dealt with well in advance of the first day of classes on Aug. 30, 2017.


Elk Island Public School is one of Alberta’s largest school divisions, serving approximately 17,100 students in 42 schools. We are proud to be an integral part of our communities, including Sherwood Park, Fort Saskatchewan, Vegreville, Strathcona and Lamont counties and the western portion of the County of Minburn.


For more information contact:
Laura McNabb, director, Communication Services, EIPS 780-417-8204 cell 780-405-4902