Subscribe to our News feed by emailing EIPS Communication Services via our online contact form


Sherwood Park, AB. — Congratulations to F.R. Haythorne Junior High’s Emerald Robinson, Grade 8, and Bev Facey Community High’s Tarynne Ho, Grade 11. The pair were recently selected to sit on the province’s 2017-18 Minister’s Youth Council, an Alberta Education initiative with a mandate to gather advice from young Albertans.

“Being selected is a true honour for these students, and by extension, for Elk Island Public Schools,” says Trina Boymook, the Board Chair of Elk Island Public Schools. “The council represents students with different interests, identities and backgrounds. What they all have in common is a shared passion for education and a desire to make a difference for Alberta students.”

In total, the 2017-18 Minister’s Youth Council includes 32 junior high and senior high students hailing from regions across Alberta—from Sherwood Park to Peace River to Medicine Hat. Collectively, they have a wide range of education, have participated in student engagement at every level and offer diverse perspectives. Over the course of a 10-month period, the council will meet three times a year with Education Minister David Eggen and other members of Alberta Education. Together, they’ll offer input to help guide the province’s education initiatives and decisions. In addition to sharing ideas, students selected will interact with each other outside of the meetings to discuss ideas and upcoming activities.

“As a whole, these students will bring new energy, new ideas and new life experiences to the table,” says Boymook. “Their contributions will offer valuable insight into the next generation’s priorities and ultimately play a role in strengthening Alberta’s education system.”

The first meeting between Alberta Education and the 2017-18 Minister’s Youth Council takes place in Edmonton from September 29 to October 2. Two more meetings are scheduled in February and May.


EIPS is one of Alberta’s largest school divisions, serving approximately 17,100 students in 42 schools. We are proud to be an integral part of our communities, including Sherwood Park, Fort Saskatchewan, Vegreville, Strathcona and Lamont counties, and the western portion of the County of Minburn.


For more information contact:
Laura McNabb, director, Communication Services, EIPS 780-417-8204 cell 780-405-4902