Wednesday, December 8, 2021
PALS Session: Play is the Work of a Child
Time: 6:30 pm - 7:15 pm
Location: Virtual

The EIPS Early Learning team has planned several upcoming sessions for current PALS families to help children build on the skills they’re learning in our PALS classrooms and offer some fun activities you can participate in with your child.

We invite you to join us for any or all upcoming sessions that fit your schedule in October through December. Many sessions have both a daytime and evening option. Some sessions are designed for parents/caregivers while others are designed for PALS students to join in as well! Sessions will generally take place via Microsoft Teams or Zoom, and the links to join will be sent to all registered families prior to the session date.

View the full list of sessions

Play is the Work of a Child
Audience: Parents/Caregivers

Join us to discuss the role of play in child development, how to understand your child’s type of play and how you can join in or facilitate play. With the holiday season approaching, you may even find some ideas for what your child would enjoy as a gift, either homemade or something available commercially. Play helps to relieve stress and build brains—at all ages!

The link to register was sent directly to all current PALS families or contact your school for more information.

Thursday, December 9, 2021
Dual Credit Virtual Info Session
Time: 6:30 pm - 7:00 pm
Location: Microsoft Teams Virtual Session

Microsoft Teams Virtual Session Click here to join the meeting

 

Families of students in grades 10-12

 

Dual-credit pathways help students earn high school and post-secondary credits that can count toward a post-secondary certificate, diploma or degree, including first period apprenticeship opportunities. Moreover, dual-credit opportunities span a variety of industries and professions including health care, trades, agriculture and business administration.

 

 

Friday, December 10, 2021
PALS Session: Stretch, Wiggle, Giggle!
Time: 10:00 am - 10:30 am
Location: Virtual

The EIPS Early Learning team has planned several upcoming sessions for current PALS families to help children build on the skills they’re learning in our PALS classrooms and offer some fun activities you can participate in with your child.

We invite you to join us for any or all upcoming sessions that fit your schedule in October through December. Many sessions have both a daytime and evening option. Some sessions are designed for parents/caregivers while others are designed for PALS students to join in as well! Sessions will generally take place via Microsoft Teams or Zoom, and the links to join will be sent to all registered families prior to the session date.

View the full list of sessions

Stretch, Wiggle, Giggle!
Audience: Parents/Caregivers and PALS students

This is an interactive, play-based, mindfulness and movement class for you and your children. Children are adventurously curious and creative learners who are built to move, but how do we help those busy little bodies slow down? In this session, we’ll stretch, wiggle and giggle our way through playful movements.

The link to register was sent directly to all current PALS families or contact your school for more information.

Thursday, December 16, 2021
Board of Trustees Meeting
Time: 10:00 am - 4:00 pm
Location: Central Office Boardroom

Find all Board Meeting agendas, minutes, and highlights in the Trustees section of the Division website.

Wednesday, December 22, 2021
Christmas Break

Schools closed to staff and students

Thursday, December 23, 2021
Christmas Break

Schools closed to staff and students

Friday, December 24, 2021
Christmas Break

Schools closed to staff and students

Friday, December 24, 2021
Christmas Floater Day - Holiday

Schools closed to staff and students

Central Services closed

Saturday, December 25, 2021
Christmas Break

Schools closed to staff and students

Sunday, December 26, 2021
Christmas Break

Schools closed to staff and students

Monday, December 27, 2021
Christmas Break

Schools closed to staff and students

Monday, December 27, 2021
Day-in-lieu for Christmas Day - Holiday

Schools closed to staff and students

Central Services closed

Tuesday, December 28, 2021
Christmas Break

Schools closed to staff and students

Tuesday, December 28, 2021
Day-in-lieu for Boxing Day - Holiday

Schools closed to staff and students

Central Services closed

Wednesday, December 29, 2021
Christmas Break

Schools closed to staff and students

Thursday, December 30, 2021
Christmas Break

Schools closed to staff and students

Friday, December 31, 2021
Christmas Break

Schools closed to staff and students

Saturday, January 1, 2022
Christmas Break

Schools closed to staff and students

Sunday, January 2, 2022
Christmas Break

Schools closed to staff and students

Monday, January 3, 2022
Christmas Break

Schools closed to staff and students

Monday, January 3, 2022
Day-in-lieu for New Years Day - Holiday

Schools closed to staff and students

Central Services closed

Tuesday, January 4, 2022
Christmas Break

Schools closed to staff and students

Wednesday, January 5, 2022
Early Dismissal

Students dismissed one hour earlier than usual

Wednesday, January 5, 2022
COSC meeting
Time: 6:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Location: Virtual

Find all meeting agendas, packages and minutes in the COSC section of the Division website.

Wednesday, January 12, 2022
YWITT – Careers in Agriculture and Cooking Trades
Time: 5:00 pm - 6:30 pm

January 12, 2022 @ 5:00 pm - 6:30 pm |Free

Learn about careers in agriculture and the skilled trades in food preparation, such as Cook and Baker.

Agriculture: The agricultural industry is both valuable and critical to our society and remains one of the largest sources of employment in many areas across Alberta and the world. It is an industry that continues to redefine itself and to present ever-evolving career opportunities. Whether it is working as a farmer, harvester, technician for farm equipment, scientist, and so on, there are an amazing number of opportunities for careers.

Careers:  Beekeeper, Horticulturist, Veterinarian, Food Specialist, Seed Producer, Equine Stable Hand, Farmer, Irrigation Specialist, the list “grows” on and on…

Cook: As the industry shifts, and the gender barrier dissipates, the opportunities for women in cooking are better than ever.

The skills that we learn in the culinary arts can be applied to so many different areas in our lives. We learn organization, teamwork, cleanliness, food safety, sanitization practices, as well as the undeniably great skill behind the art of cooking.

Skilled Trades: Cook and Baker

https://www.careersnextgen.ca/event/ywitt-careers-in-agricultre-and-skilled-trades-cook-and-baker/

 

Tuesday, January 18, 2022
Virtual Showcase: Agriculture – Plant Systems
Time: 6:00 pm - 7:30 pm
Thursday, January 20, 2022
Board of Trustees Meeting
Time: 10:00 am - 4:00 pm
Location: Central Office Boardroom

Find all Board Meeting agendas, minutes, and highlights in the Trustees section of the Division website.

Thursday, January 27, 2022
Family Literacy Day
Monday, January 31, 2022
Professional Learning Day

Schools closed to students

Tuesday, February 1, 2022
Returning student registration 2022-23 opens

Returning Student Registration for the 2022-23 school year takes place Feb. 1-28, 2022.

All requests to attend a non-designated school in 2022-23 must be submitted during this timeframe. 

Learn more

Tuesday, February 1, 2022
Second semester begins
Tuesday, February 1, 2022
Kindergarten registration 2022-23 opens
Time: 9:00 am

Kindergarten registration for the 2022-23 school year opens February 1 at 9 a.m.

Learn more

Tuesday, February 1, 2022
New student registration 2022-23 opens
Time: 9:00 am

New student registration (grades 1-12) for the 2022-23 school year opens February 1 at 9 a.m.

Learn more

Wednesday, February 2, 2022
Early Dismissal

Students dismissed one hour earlier than usual

Wednesday, February 2, 2022
COSC meeting
Time: 6:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Location: Virtual

Find all meeting agendas, packages and minutes in the COSC section of the Division website.

Thursday, February 3, 2022
Future Fair
Time: 6:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Location: Strathcona County Community Centre, Agora (401 Festival Ln., Sherwood Park)

Do you have a child with extra support needs?
Not sure what to do after senior high?

Discover opportunities and supports beyond high school for teens and adults with disabilities—plan to attend this year’s FUTURE Fair

FUTURE Fair 2022

Free underground parking available

Hosted by Elk Island Public Schools, Elk Island Catholic Schools and Strathcona County, the 2022 FUTURE Fair showcases the many supportive agencies and transition opportunities available to individuals with complex needs after high school.

FUTURE Fair is a FREE event open to teens and adults with disabilities, their families and teachers who want to learn more about: 

  • transition resources
  • funding opportunities
  • employment programs
  • post-secondary education
  • residential choices
  • plus much more
Thursday, February 10, 2022
North Central Alberta Teachers' Convention

Schools closed to staff and students

Friday, February 11, 2022
North Central Alberta Teachers' Convention

Schools closed to staff and students

Tuesday, February 15, 2022
National Flag Day
Wednesday, February 16, 2022
Virtual Showcase: Forestry
Time: 6:00 pm - 7:30 pm
Thursday, February 17, 2022
Board of Trustees Meeting
Time: 10:00 am - 4:00 pm
Location: Central Office Boardroom

Find all Board Meeting agendas, minutes, and highlights in the Trustees section of the Division website.

Monday, February 21, 2022
Family Day - Stat. Holiday

Schools closed to staff and students

Central Services closed

Wednesday, February 23, 2022
Pink Shirt Day
Monday, February 28, 2022
Returning student registration 2022-23 closes

Returning Student Registration for the 2022-23 school year takes place Feb. 1-28, 2022.

All requests to attend a non-designated school in 2022-23 must be submitted during this timeframe. 

Learn more

Wednesday, March 2, 2022
Early Dismissal

Students dismissed one hour earlier than usual

Wednesday, March 2, 2022
COSC meeting
Time: 6:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Location: Virtual

Find all meeting agendas, packages and minutes in the COSC section of the Division website.

Friday, March 4, 2022
Professional Learning Day

Schools closed to students

Tuesday, March 8, 2022
International Women's Day
Thursday, March 10, 2022
Your Future: Post-secondary and Career Fair II
Time: 6:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Location: Strathcona County Agora

Post-Secondary Career Fair event on March 10, 2022 at the Strathcona County Agora from 6-8 pm.

Monday, March 14, 2022
Pi Day
Thursday, March 17, 2022
Board of Trustees Meeting
Time: 10:00 am - 4:00 pm
Location: Central Office Boardroom

Find all Board Meeting agendas, minutes, and highlights in the Trustees section of the Division website.

Friday, March 18, 2022
Report Cards

Term 2 report cards for elementary, elementary/junior high and standalone junior high schools

Monday, March 21, 2022
World Poetry Day
Friday, March 25, 2022
Day-in-Lieu for Parent Teacher Interviews

Schools closed to staff and students

Monday, March 28, 2022
Spring Break

Schools closed to staff and students

Tuesday, March 29, 2022
Spring Break

Schools closed to staff and students

Wednesday, March 30, 2022
Spring Break

Schools closed to staff and students

Thursday, March 31, 2022
Spring Break

Schools closed to staff and students

Friday, April 1, 2022
Spring Break

Schools closed to staff and students

Wednesday, April 6, 2022
Early Dismissal

Students dismissed one hour earlier than usual

Wednesday, April 6, 2022
COSC meeting
Time: 6:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Location: Virtual

Find all meeting agendas, packages and minutes in the COSC section of the Division website.

Thursday, April 7, 2022
World Health Day
Friday, April 15, 2022
Good Friday - Stat. Holiday

Schools closed to staff and students

Central Services closed

Monday, April 18, 2022
Easter Monday - Stat. Holiday

Schools closed to staff and students

Central Services closed

Thursday, April 21, 2022
Board of Trustees Meeting
Time: 10:00 am - 4:00 pm
Location: Central Office Boardroom

Find all Board Meeting agendas, minutes, and highlights in the Trustees section of the Division website.

Friday, April 22, 2022
Earth Day
Sunday, April 24, 2022
National Volunteer Week
Monday, April 25, 2022
National Volunteer Week
Tuesday, April 26, 2022
National Volunteer Week
Wednesday, April 27, 2022
National Volunteer Week
Thursday, April 28, 2022
National Volunteer Week
Friday, April 29, 2022
National Volunteer Week
Saturday, April 30, 2022
National Volunteer Week
Wednesday, May 4, 2022
Early Dismissal

Students dismissed one hour earlier than usual

Wednesday, May 4, 2022
COSC meeting
Time: 6:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Location: Virtual

Find all meeting agendas, packages and minutes in the COSC section of the Division website.

Friday, May 6, 2022
Professional Learning Day

Schools closed to students

Thursday, May 19, 2022
Board of Trustees Meeting - Public Budget Review
Time: 10:00 am - 4:00 pm
Location: Central Office Boardroom

Find all Board Meeting agendas, minutes, and highlights in the Trustees section of the Division website.

Friday, May 20, 2022
School Closure Day

Schools closed to staff and students

Monday, May 23, 2022
Victoria Day - Stat. Holiday

Schools closed to staff and students

Central Services closed

Wednesday, May 25, 2022
Board of Trustees Meeting
Time: 10:00 am - 4:00 pm
Location: Central Office Boardroom

Find all Board Meeting agendas, minutes, and highlights in the Trustees section of the Division website.

Wednesday, June 1, 2022
Early Dismissal

Students dismissed one hour earlier than usual

Thursday, June 16, 2022
Board of Trustees Meeting
Time: 10:00 am - 4:00 pm
Location: Central Office Boardroom

Find all Board Meeting agendas, minutes, and highlights in the Trustees section of the Division website.

Tuesday, June 21, 2022
National Indigenous Peoples Day

National Indigenous Peoples Day is a day for all Canadians to recognize and celebrate the unique heritage, diverse cultures and outstanding contributions of First NationsInuit and Métis peoples. 

Learn more

Tuesday, June 28, 2022
Last day of classes
Wednesday, June 29, 2022
Operational Day

Schools closed to students

Friday, July 1, 2022
Canada Day - Stat. Holiday

Central Services closed

Monday, August 1, 2022
Heritage Day - Stat. Holiday

Central Services closed

Thursday, August 25, 2022
Board of Trustees Organizational Meeting
Time: 10:00 am - 4:00 pm
Location: Central Office Boardroom

Find all Board Meeting agendas, minutes, and highlights in the Trustees section of the Division website.

Monday, September 5, 2022
Labour Day - Stat. Holiday

Schools closed to staff and students

Central Services closed