BY-LAW No. 001/95

A BY-LAW OF THE ELK ISLAND PUBLIC SCHOOLS REGIONAL DIVISION NO. 14 RELATING TO THE ESTABLISHMENT OF WARDS AND ELECTORAL SUBDIVISIONS OF ELK ISLAND PUBLIC SCHOOLS REGIONAL DIVISION NO. 14

PURSUANT TO THE REGIONAL AGREEMENT AND SUBSEQUENT ORDERS IN COUNCIL NOS. 579/94 and 692/94 and MINISTERIAL ORDERS 082/94, 164/94, 165/94,166/94 and 167/94.

WHEREAS Division 2.1 (s. 208.1 to 208.6) of the *School Act* permits two or more districts, divisions, counties or other areas governed by boards to enter into an agreement for the establishment of a regional division.

AND WHEREAS the COUNTY OF STRATHCONA NO. 20 (hereinafter called "the County") and the COUNTY OF LAMONT NO. 30 (hereinafter collectively called "the Participating Boards") have entered into a Regional Agreement (hereinafter called the "Regional Agreement") to form a Regional Division to be called the ELK ISLAND REGIONAL DIVISION (hereinafter called the "Regional Division").

AND WHEREAS the Regional Agreement provides for the establishment of the Regional Division and the inclusion of the area comprising the County and the CITY OF FORT SASKATCHEWAN in the Regional Division.

AND WHEREAS the Ministerial Order 082/94 established the Elk Island Regional Division No. 14 effective January 1, 1995;

AND WHEREAS the Order in Council 579/94 repealed Ministerial Order No. 082/94 and, pursuant to Sections 208.31 and 208.32 of the School Act, established the GREATER ELK ISLAND REGIONAL DIVISION NO. 14. The Order in Council 579/94 established a portion of the County of Minburn No. 27 as a ward of the Regional Division, specified the number of trustees to be elected to the Board of Trustees for each Ward and the electoral subdivisions.

AND WHEREAS the Order in Council 692/94 amends Order in Council 579/94 to change the name of the Greater Elk Island Regional Division No. 14 to the ELK ISLAND PUBLIC SCHOOLS REGIONAL DIVISION NO. 14 effective January I, 1995;

AND WHEREAS the Minister of Education has, by Ministerial Orders 164/94, 165/94, 166/94 and 167/94 realigned the boundaries of a number of public school districts located in the COUNTY OF MINBURN NO. 27 to have the named areas included in the portion of the County of Minburn No. 27 Ward in the Elk Island Public Schools Regional Division No. 14.

NOW THEREFORE, in accordance with s. 208.4 (2) of the *School Act*, the Board of Trustees (hereinafter called the "Board") of the ELK ISLAND PUBLIC SCHOOLS REGIONAL DIVISION NO. 14, enacts as follows:

- (1) Effective with the general election in October 1995, the number of trustees to be elected to the Board for each Ward shall be
 - (a) one trustee for the County of Minburn No. 27 Ward;
 - (b) one trustee for the County of Lamont No. 30 Ward; and
 - (c) seven trustees from the County of Strathcona No. 20 Ward.
- (2) The election of the trustee for the County of Minburn No. 27 Ward shall be by the general vote of the electors;
- (3) The election of the trustee for the County of Lamont No. 30 Ward shall be by the general vote of the electors;
- (4) The election of trustees in the County of Strathcona No. 20 Ward shall be by electoral subdivisions as follows:
 - (a) Electoral Subdivision #1 shall be comprised of all the lands lying within the corporate limits of the City of Fort Saskatchewan;
 - (i) Two (2) trustees shall be elected from Electoral Subdivision #1.
 - (b) Electoral Subdivision #2 shall be comprised of all the lands lying within the corporate limits of the Hamlet of Sherwood Park;
 - (i) Three (3) trustees shall be elected from Electoral Subdivision #2.
 - (c) Electoral Subdivision # 3 shall be comprised of all the lands lying North of Secondary Highway 630, excepting those lands lying within the corporate limits of the Hamlet of Sherwood Park referenced in 4 (b).
 - (i) One (I) trustee shall be elected from Electoral Subdivision #3;
 - (d) Electoral Subdivision # 4 shall be comprised of all the lands lying South of Secondary Highway 630, excepting those lands lying within the corporate limits of the Hamlet of Sherwood Park referenced in 4 (b).
 - (i) One (I) trustee shall be elected from Electoral Subdivision #4;

READ A FIRST TIME this	9	day of		1995.
READ A SECOND TIME this	9	day of		1995.
READ A THIRD AND FINAL	TIME this	9	day of February	1995.
Chairman				
Board Secretary	ck			