Sherwood Park, AB. — Today, at its annual organizational meeting, Elk Island Public Schools’ (EIPS) Board of Trustees formally selected its Chair and Vice-Chair. Trina Boymook will once again act as the Board Chair and Colleen Holowaychuk as the Vice-Chair. Both individuals will lead the Board of Trustees for the 2022-23 school year.

Board Chair Boymook was first elected as an EIPS trustee in October 2013—representing residents in Sherwood Park. She also served as vice-president of the Alberta School Boards Association (ASBA) for several years. Throughout her tenure, Boymook’s been a vocal advocate for education and has worked diligently to ensure child and parent concerns are heard in the classroom, schools and the boardroom. This is Boymook’s 10th consecutive term as Board Chair.

“It’s an honour to work alongside an incredible team of trustees and an even bigger one to serve for the 10th-straight year as Chair,” says Boymook. “I look forward to continuing the collaborative approach we’ve developed as a Board. Our focus remains unchanged—support literacy and numeracy in all grades, from kindergarten to Grade 12, and build on our successes from previous years. I’m excited about what’s to come and look forward to working with our communities to ensure all students attending EIPS reach their full potential.”

Vice-Chair Holowaychuk was first elected as an EIPS trustee in October 2010—representing residents in Lamont County. She also serves as a councillor for the Town of Lamont and director for ASBA Zone 2/3. Her background includes several leadership roles and almost 30 years in the science and health care sectors. When not working, Holowaychuk enjoys volunteering and being part of the rural community, as it is part of her roots and an important aspect of her life. This is Holowaychuk’s seventh term as Board Vice-Chair.

“We have an incredible Board, and it’s a great privilege to serve as Vice-Chair,” says Holowaychuk. “The year ahead will present new opportunities and new challenges. As a Board, our priority is student achievement and success, and supporting staff with the same mandate. Our goal, of course, is to ensure all EIPS schools provide high-quality, student-centred education. It’s a responsibility the Board takes seriously, and trustees will work closely with administration to achieve that end.”

At the meeting, the Board of Trustees also approved its regular Board meeting schedule, which is now available on the EIPS website.

EIPS has a nine-member Board representing approximately 17,125 students and their families in Sherwood Park, the City of Fort Saskatchewan, the Town of Vegreville, Strathcona County, Lamont County and the western portion of the County of Minburn. Trustees meet as a Board and on committees on a regular basis throughout the year to ensure students receive the best education possible.

To learn more about the EIPS Board of Trustees visit


Elk Island Public Schools is one of Alberta’s largest school divisions, serving approximately 17,125 students in 43 schools. We are proud to be an integral part of our communities, including Sherwood Park, Fort Saskatchewan, Vegreville, Strathcona and Lamont counties, and the western portion of the County of Minburn.



For more information contact:
Laura McNabb, Director, Communication Services, EIPS 780-417-8204 cell 780-405-4902