Sherwood Park, AB. — The Conseil scolaire Centre-Nord (CSCN) and Elk Island Public Schools (EIPS) are pleased to announce a partnership that will see Clover Bar Junior High welcome grades 6 and 7 students from École Claudette-et-Denis-Tardif to share school space starting in the 2022-23 school year.

In January 2022, CSCN trustees approved the opening of junior high school programming in temporary spaces in Strathcona County, while awaiting the construction of the K-12 school announced by the provincial government in 2021. As the current school is over capacity, the CSCN turned to their education partners at EIPS to inquire about available space. The boards were able to come to an agreement, and École Claudette-et-Denis Tardif students in grades 6 and 7 will have a dedicated wing in Clover Bar Junior High, and access to some shared spaces, starting in September 2022.

“For the first time, francophone students in Grade 7 will be able to attend a francophone school in their community. I know this is an exciting day for francophone Strathcona County families. We’re so grateful to Elk Island Public Schools, who’ve opened their doors to our students. Du fond du coeur, merci!” says Tanya Saumure, the CSCN Board Chair.

The École Claudette-et-Denis Tardif wing at Clover Bar Junior High will expand to include Grade 8 students in 2023-24 and Grade 9 students in 2024-25. It’s anticipated the CSCN’s new francophone K-12 school in Sherwood Park will open in time for the 2025-26 school year.

“Public education in all its forms serves students through access to broad choices in programming,” says Trina Boymook, the EIPS Board Chair. “By working closely with the Conseil scolaire Centre-Nord to welcome Grade 6 and junior high francophone students into our school, we’re able to ensure more students can access their choice in education while remaining in their community.”

Elk Island Public Schools is one of Alberta’s largest school divisions, serving approximately 17,125 students in 43 schools. We are proud to be an integral part of our communities, including Sherwood Park, Fort Saskatchewan, Vegreville, Strathcona and Lamont counties and the western portion of the County of Minburn. To learn more visit 


Conseil scolaire Centre-Nord,, 780-468-6440
Laura McNabb, Director, Communication Services, EIPS 780-417-8204 cell 780-405-4902