Sherwood Park, AB. — The Elk Island Public Schools (EIPS) Board of Trustees has ratified the Division’s Collective Agreement with the Alberta Teachers’ Association (ATA). The new contract will remain in effect until Aug. 31, 2024.

“The Collective Agreement between the ATA and EIPS demonstrates the Board’s commitment to supporting teachers in the important work they do in and outside of the classroom,” says Cathy Allen, Board Chair of EIPS. “It reaffirms the strong working relationship we have with one another.”

The collective agreement expired on Aug. 31, 2020. After expiration, bargaining for collective agreements happens in three phases:

  1. In phase 1, the ATA and the Teachers’ Employer Bargaining Association (TEBA) negotiate the list of central items.
  2. In phase 2, the ATA and TEBA negotiate individual central items on that list.
  3. In phase 3, bargaining units and school divisions negotiate the local items.

“We’re pleased that we could reach an agreement,” says Deneen Zielke, the ATA Local No. 28 President. “Both parties worked cooperatively to establish a contract that explores the interests of staff and considers issues raised.”

The collective agreement applies to every person who requires a teaching certificate as a condition of employment with the Division, including teachers with principal designations. You can view the full EIPS Collective Agreement on the ATA website.

“I’m pleased to see the new Collective Agreement ratified for certificated staff in the Division,” says Sandra Stoddard, Superintendent of EIPS. “The contract ensures we continue to enhance high-quality learning and working environments that are responsive to the needs of our staff.”


Elk Island Public Schools is one of Alberta’s largest school divisions, serving approximately 17,750 students in 42 schools. We are proud to be an integral part of our communities, including Sherwood Park, Fort Saskatchewan, Vegreville, Strathcona and Lamont counties, and the western portion of the County of Minburn.



For more information contact:
Laura McNabb, Director, Communication Services, EIPS 780-417-8204 cell 780-405-4902