Liam Cadieux, a Grade 12 student at Bev Facey Community High and member of the 2022-23 Minister’s Youth Council.

Liam Cadieux, a Grade 12 student at Bev Facey Community High and member of the 2022-23 Minister’s Youth Council.

Sherwood Park, AB. — From October 14-17, students from across the province are taking part in the Minister’s Youth Council—a group of 41 junior and senior high students with diverse interests, identities, backgrounds and perspectives. Students on the council provide their perspectives on several education topics, ensuring the voice of those most impacted by decisions through Alberta Education are heard and considered.

Of the 163 applicants for the 2022-23 Minister’s Youth Council, two of the students selected are from Elk Island Public Schools (EIPS): Ayden Carrier-Island and Liam Cadieux. Carrier-Island is a Grade 10 student at Fort Saskatchewan High, while Cadieux attends Grade 12 at Bev Facey Community High.

“I hadn’t seen an opportunity like this before for high school students,” says Cadieux. “The ability to contribute in a concrete way, with the possibility of tangible changes coming from the Council, seemed really exciting. Generally, the people who vote on and make education policy are not the students directly affected by these decisions. Because of this, having direct student perspectives provides valuable insights that would otherwise be missed.”

To be considered for the positions, applicants must demonstrate they value people and ideas, have experience contributing to the community, and a proven ability to inspire, motivate and lead. Applicants who are shortlisted are then interviewed and screened through additional questions related to experience, knowledge and personal effectiveness.

“Every student who applied shows a willingness to be an engaged and active member of their community. It takes courage and commitment to step forward and represent the interests of their classmates,” says Trina Boymook, EIPS Board Chair. “I want to congratulate both Ayden and Liam on their selection to the Council. I’m confident that starting this weekend, they will help make a real difference for students throughout Alberta.”

Council members will attend two more meetings, including one in February and one in May. While the positions are strictly voluntary, all meals, accommodations and travel costs associated with the meetings are covered by the government.

For more information on the Minister’s Youth Council, visit the Government of Alberta’s Student Engagement webpage.


Elk Island Public Schools is one of Alberta’s largest school divisions, serving approximately 17,125 students in 43 schools. We’re proud to be an integral part of our communities, including Sherwood Park, Fort Saskatchewan, Vegreville, Strathcona and Lamont counties and the western portion of the County of Minburn. To learn more, visit



For more information contact:
Laura McNabb, Director, Communication Services, EIPS 780-417-8204 cell 780-405-4902