The land-based learning space at Win Ferguson Elementary in Fort Saskatchewan.

The land-based learning space at Win Ferguson Elementary in Fort Saskatchewan.

Sherwood Park, AB. — The Alberta School Boards Association (ASBA) hosted their annual Friends of Education awards program to recognize and thank the many Alberta-based organizations contributing to education in the province. This year, Elk Island Public Schools (EIPS) nominated Shell Canada Ltd. after five years of partnership. The Division is pleased to announce Shell received the award for ASBA Zone 2/3.

Notably, Shell Scotford, through the Shell in the Community grant, has provided the Division with over $185,000 to support the development of Indigenous land-based learning spaces in Fort Saskatchewan and Bruderheim. Shell funded one space at Bruderheim School and eight spaces at schools in Fort Saskatchewan, including Win Ferguson Elementary.

The Division has also added another five land-based learning spaces in Sherwood Park—last June saw one built at EIPS’ Central Services office.

These spaces benefit students greatly as they learn from and give back to the land. Through outdoor Indigenous teachings, educators highlight the importance of connecting to the earth, listening to each other and bonding together as people of varied backgrounds. Overall, land-based learning spaces represent a pivotal step in the Division’s journey toward reconciliation.

Additionally, through their Fueling Kindness initiative, Shell has provided staff to support various initiatives within EIPS. Shell staff have come in to read during Read In Week, share real-life experiences at Week of Inspirational Math and decorate Division sidewalks.

“We’re so grateful for the steadfast partnership with Shell Canada over the last five years,” says Trina Boymook, Board Chair of EIPS. “The enduring benefits for students and staff alike cannot be understated. Not only do the land-based learning spaces benefit schools, they also serve as a place where community members can gather, reflect and learn.”

Shell’s ongoing commitment has supported the Division in enhancing education for students in all the communities EIPS serves. Their financial contributions and community involvement have established lasting benefits and made a persisting impact on what student learning looks like in the Division.


Elk Island Public Schools is one of Alberta’s largest school divisions, serving approximately 17,460 students in 43 schools. We are proud to be an integral part of our communities, including Sherwood Park, Fort Saskatchewan, Vegreville, Strathcona and Lamont counties and the western portion of the County of Minburn.


Shell in the Community
EIPS Opens Its Newest Land-Based Learning Space
Learning From and With the Land



For more information contact:
Laura McNabb, Director, Communication Services, EIPS 780-417-8204 cell 780-405-4902